Whose road is that?

We often have questions about which roads (or their adjacent bikeways) are owned/operated by Brisbane City Council, and which are the responsibility of the Queensland Government (via DTMR)

A detailed map of the state-owned roads can be downloaded at this link.

In short, in the Brisbane City Council area, all roads are the responsibility of Brisbane City Council, with the following exceptions:


  • Gateway Motorway
  • Port of Brisbane Motorway
  • Lytton Road east of the Gateway Motorway
  • Old Cleveland Road east of the Gateway Motorway (and a short section immediately west)
  • Moreton Bay Road
  • Mount Gravatt Capalaba Road between Logan Road and Mount Cotton Road
  • Mount Cotton Road
  • Logan Road south of Kessels / Mount Gravatt Capalaba Road intersection


  • South East Arterial / Pacific Motorway, including the Riverside Expressway and its off-ramps
  • Kessels Road / Riawena Road / Granard Road
  • Mains Road between Klump Road to Kessels Road
  • Beaudesert Road south of Kessels Road
  • Logan Motorway
  • Gateway Extension
  • Centenary Motorway
  • Ipswich Motorway / Ipswich Road south of Marshall Rd


  • Moggill Road
  • Mt Crosby Road
  • Frederick St / Rouen Road / Boundary Road / MacGregor Tce / Jubilee Tce / Stewart Rd / Wardell St / South Pine Road (north of Wardell St) / Old Northern Road
  • Samford Road west of Wardell St


  • Stafford Road
  • Albany Creek Road
  • Gympie Arterial Road
  • South Pine Rd / Linkfield Rd west of Gympie Arterial Road
  • Strathpine Road
  • Gateway Motorway
  • Deagon Deviation
  • Sandgate Road north of Junction Road, plus Braun St
  • Kedron Park Rd / Park Road / Rose St / Junction Rd west of Sandgate Rd
  • Airport Link
  • Southern Cross Drive
  • Spaghetti junction at Bowen Hills